44th Edition 2023-2024

Letter from the Editor

Dear Reader,

Thank you for tuning in to the 44th edition of Comm-Entary! We are delighted and honored to introduce the research journal of the Communication Department at the University of New Hampshire. Over the past year, our team has been working diligently to bring forth some of the best work that the students in our department have to offer. Our editors have worked tirelessly to create this edition, and we are thrilled for our readers to see what we have to offer.

This year, like many others, we were proud to share our fellow peers’ work in a manner that not only contains prestige but allows for their voice to be heard. We at Comm-Entary want to thank our readers for taking the time to appreciate the work that has been done, and hope they enjoy this time-honored tradition. The 15 papers along with the 8 mixed media entries will provide a powerful snapshot into not only the various interests of these scholars, but the overall atmosphere within the realm of media studies, rhetoric, and language studies.

None of this would have been possible without the tremendous work put forward by the Comm-Entary team, and the authors who submitted. We would be remiss not to also mention the guidance and leadership shown to us by our faculty advisor, Professor R. Michael Jackson. I would also like to extend a thank you to the professors in the department for inspiring students to create such tremendous work, as well as the various student groups who contributed in whatever way they could.

I am beyond excited to introduce this incredible avenue for these scholars to introduce their work to the world. From our family to yours, we hope you enjoy!

Josh Kalman


The Power of Action
Giavanna Fioretti


Shame in a Digital Age
Gianna Anzalone


Symphony of Gbury 1
Luke Vartenigian


A Survivor’s Source
Kaylie Efstratiou, Anna Drabik, Samantha Boisvert, and Jack Philibotte


Relational Labor
Deryke Ramsey

Executive Board

Editor in Chief
Josh Kalman
Author and Board Liaison
Layla Hanissian
Grace Cushing
Digital Chair/Editing Chair
Clara Capelli
Editing Chair
Travis Dean-Ploof
Manuscript Chair
Elizabeth Newton
Design Chair
Dina Rathke
Student Organizations Liaison
Kali Couronis
Student Organizations Liaison
Marlouise Siguenza
Shaielyn Spensley
Pat Hussey
Kaleigh Fichera
Cover Art
Grace Cushing
Faculty Advisor
R. Michael Jackson